Peddlers and Solicitors Information Sheet
In order for any person to peddle goods or solicit orders “door-to-door” within the City of Ferndale, he or she must first obtain a Peddlers and Solicitors License. This document outlines the procedures and fees involved in this process.
The application form is obtained at Ferndale City Hall or Ferndale Police Department. It must be completed fully and in writing by the applicant, and submitted to the Ferndale Police Department along with a check or cash in the amount set by the current unified fee schedule* of the City of Ferndale to cover the cost of a criminal background investigation. The applicant’s fingerprints will be taken by the Police Department and a background check initiated.
The Police Department will submit the fingerprints to the Washington State Patrol to check for criminal history. The Police Department will also look for criminal history through various databases and contact references supplied by the applicant. It may take up to 30 (thirty) days to complete the background investigation.
If any of the following are discovered through the research, the application will be denied: (1) fraud, misrepresentation, or false statements contained in the application for license; (2) conviction of a serious offense as defined in RCW 9.41.010; (3) conviction for offenses related to (a) larceny; (b) assault; (c) fraud; (d) sex offenses; (e) felony drug crimes; and (f) crimes against children and/or vulnerable adults.
If the applicant is denied, the denial shall be made a matter of official record and the reason(s) for the denial will be disclosed to the applicant upon request.
Once the applicant is approved, and upon payment of the license fee as contained in the current unified fee schedule** for the City of Ferndale, the Peddlers and Solicitors License shall be issued.
Licensing periods are as follows:
- Yearly license valid for one year from date of issuance.
- Bi-Yearly license valid for six months from date of issuance.
- Temporary license valid for a period of thirty-one days from date of issuance.
Licensees will be given a 90 day grace period in which to renew their expired license at the pertinent periodic rate. Those whose licenses have expired beyond 90 days will be treated as an initial applicant and submitted to a full fingerprint background check and associated fee.
Peddlers and solicitors are required to display the license on their person and in plain view when working, and to offer it for examination at the request of any citizen or police officer.
Peddlers and solicitors shall not attempt to do business at any home, apartment or business that displays a “No Solicitors” or other similar sign, or otherwise provides notice that the occupants do not desire contact.
Peddlers and solicitors shall not engage in business between the hours of 8:00 p.m. and 9:00 a.m., and will not conduct business on any Sunday.
Peddlers and solicitors will not intentionally obstruct vehicular or pedestrian traffic.
*As of the date of inception of this ordinance, the fee for a police background check is $50 (fifty) U.S. dollars, which includes the $24 fee set by the Washington State Patrol for a fingerprint comparison search.
**As of the date of inception of this ordinance, license fees are $20 (twenty) for a yearly license; $15 (fifteen) for a six-month license; and $10 (ten) for a 31 day license. These fees are not included in the cost of the background check.